Board of Deacons

Becoming a Deacon at Myers Park Baptist Church is a transparent, democratic process. Our Deacon Board is elected entirely by our membership. Each March, the congregation fills out nomination forms, suggesting up to twelve potential Deacons. Our Ministry of Leadership then tallies nominations and — provided the individuals agree to serve — announces the new Deacon class.

For more information about the Deacons of Myers Park Baptist Church, contact:
Janet Miller, Chair
Board of Deacons

December 2016 Deacons Meeting Minutes and Resources

Pastoral Care
Church members and their extended families may experience a range of joys or concerns throughout the year. While our ministers are in close touch with these members, our Pastoral Care Deacons provide an additional level of support. This may involve sending a note, making a phone call or a visit, or coordinating with our Congregational Care Ministry to provide a meal – whatever it takes to help members feel connected to their Myers Park Baptist Church family.  

For more information about our Pastoral Care outreach efforts, contact:
Cam Wester, Coordinator

Chair: Janet Miller
Chair-Elect: Jay Rivers
Secretary: Bob Thomason

Deacon Class of 2017Deacon Class of 2018Deacon Class of 2019
Kathy Bahnson 
Nancy Culp
Scott Haenni
Richard Harris
Patsy Kinsey
Debbie Love
Regan Miller
Cathryn Rivers
Chris Skardon
Tobie Steele
Steve Woodard
Judy Bratton 
Leslie Clark
Koren Cranford
Lalla Dabbs
Dave Dougherty
Doug Driggers
Charlie Elberson
Susan Salvin
Cherrie Shoemaker
Cam Wester
Chris William 
Robert Barfield 
Bob Bishop
Cindy Clemens
Tara Harris
Ann Hester
Jane Huddle
Elaine Johnson
Jill Kinney
MaryAnn Largen
Ted Phillips
Jay Rivers
Becky Rizzo

    Active Life Deacons
    Bonnie Banks
    Dick Cornwell
    Gloria Gibson

    Ed Hinson
    Barbara Linney
    Jane Lucas
    Ted Lucas
    Barbara Mishoe
    Carol Pearsall
    Richard Pearsall
    Todd Rubenson
    Bob Thomason
    Tillie Tice
    Dan White
    Inactive Life Deacons
    Fred Allen
    Mollie Brugh
    Suzette Buchan
    Don Bynum
    Frank Dowd
    Dean Hamrick
    Robin Hicks
    Tom Holmes
    Allen Hull, Sr.
    Jim Kratt
    George Linney
    Ray Owens
    Billy Pinson
    Bob Ruppenthal
    Dick Spangler
    Mack Turner
    Bill Walker
    John Wyatt

Main Menu